Throughout centuries, Hamina has been a meeting place between the East and West, and it has been located alternately on both sides of the national frontier. This is where the land and sea meet each other; in the winter intertwined in snow, and in the summer the waves caress the seaside sand and the rocky shores of the archipelago. This is where the history of the unique circular centre of Hamina with its fortress meets the beautiful countryside. This is where happy people meet each other – in the sunny streets and festivals of a summer’s day, on the trekking paths in the peace and quiet of the natural environment, and in the autumn and winter events filled with a special atmosphere.
- The sights along the circular streets of the old town centre are all close to one another. Hamina and its history can be viewed more broadly from the ramparts of the fortress surrounding the centre.
- A flag tower of the fortress commander was built at the tip of the Helsinki Bastion in 1790. The bastion and the ramparts around it were demolished in 1889.
- The Central Bastion built in 1803-1811 is the largest bastion in the fortress of Hamina. Its 58 casemates, i.e. masonry vaults, were originally designed as explosion-proof storage facilities.
- Access to the fortified Hamina was possible through three gates provided with booms and drawbridges. There was a guard building at each gate. The medieval highway between passed through Hamina.
- The main building of the Imperial Cadet School of Finland, which used to be located in Hamina in 1821-1903. Since 1920, the main building has been used by the Reserve Officer School.
- Tervasaari and Rampsinkari with their visitors’ marina, cafeterias, terraces, museum ships, beaches and picnic sites! Starting point for cruises to the National Park of Eastern Gulf of Finland.
- The River Kymijoki is full of rapids where rapid-shooters, canoeists and fishermen will have unforgettable experiences. River rafting and more easy-going river cruising is a must experience!
- The medieval stone church dedicated to St Mary is the oldest building in South-Eastern Finland.
- The Neoclassical church of the Lutheran parish follows the design of Greek temples. The church was built in 1843.
- A rare Neoclassical round temple from 1837 with Byzantine influences, designed by the Italian-French architect Louis Visconti.
- Cruise Port HaminaKotka/Hamina
Petra Cranston, Project Manager, Cruise Business
Finland+358 (0) 505188895